quarta-feira, 12 de maio de 2010

Cecil Taylor - Unit Structures (1966)

After several years off records, pianist Cecil Taylor finally had an opportunity to document his music of the mid-'60s on two Blue Note albums (the other one was Conquistador). Taylor's high-energy atonalism fit in well with the free jazz of the period but he was actually leading the way rather than being part of a movement. In fact, this septet outing with trumpeter Eddie Gale, altoist Jimmy Lyons, Ken McIntyre (alternating between alto, oboe and bass clarinet), both Henry Grimes and Alan Silva on basses, and drummer Andrew Cyrille is quite stunning and very intense. In fact, it could be safely argued that no jazz music of the era approached the ferocity and intensity of Cecil Taylor's.
by Scott Yanow in All Music Guide


01 - Steps (10:20)
02 - Enter, Evening (Soft Line Structure) (11:06)
03 - Enter, Evening (Alternate Take) (10:11)
04 - Unit Structure/As of a Now/Section (17:47)
05 - Tales (8 Whisps) (07:14)

Cecil Taylor – piano, bells
Eddie Gale Stevens, Jr. – trumpet
Jimmy Lyons – alto sax
Ken McIntyre – alto sax, oboe, bass clarinet
Henry Grimes – bass
Alan Silva – bass
Andrew Cyrille – drums

1 comentário:

Anónimo disse...