domingo, 18 de abril de 2010

McCoy Tyner - The Real McCoy (1967)

Two and a half years after his last recording as a leader for Impulse, pianist McCoy Tyner emerged to start a period on Blue Note that would result in seven albums. Having left John Coltrane's Quartet in late 1965, Tyner was entering a period of struggle, although artistically his playing grew quite a bit in the late '60s. For this release, the pianist is teamed with tenor saxophonist Joe Henderson, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Elvin Jones for five of his originals. Highlights of the easily recommended album include "Passion Dance," "Four by Five," and "Blues on the Corner."
by Scott Yanow in All Music Guide


01 - Passion Dance (8:44)
02 - Contemplation (9:10)
03 - Four by Five (6:33)
04 - Search for Peace (6:27)
05 - Blues on the Corner (5:58)

McCoy Tyner: piano
Joe Henderson: tenor saxophone
Ron Carter: bass
Elvin Jones: drums

1 comentário:

Anónimo disse...